Listing Loon Set: Numero Uno.

As promised, the poetry.

My set included seven pieces.  One for each day of the week.

This one is “Biography“.  I wrote it nearly two or three years ago.  I first performed it at a bar in Denton, late at night, midway through the event.  I cannot remember the name of the venue.  My brother Ryan was there.  His friend Ethan curated it.  I always felt I would’ve loved Ethan, in a way, he would’ve been on brand.  Luckily I had no game growing up and he was never more than a distance idea.

So, the poem.


Biography. 


you could tell me you were broken
I’d believe it

you could tell me you were hurt
I’d see it

you could tell be about the spectrum of purple an eye can change after a really good left hook
I’d conceal it

you could tell me you’ve been opened
I’d feel it

you could tell me you were loaded
I’d smell it

you could tell me half the flavors of blue a voice can cover on a long jazz scale after two am I’d only want to hear it

tell me your story eight different ways
tell me you’re sorry four different times

lay your lifetime in the puddle of my clavicle
stitch your deathsuit with my capillaries

reduce reuse recycle the human body
like the cave drawing man eating life producing vessel

it is revelation of prop

my body isn’t a circus or a carnival or a canary cage
it’s a religious revival
complete with hell fire

can you compete with hell fire?

you could tell me you were broken
I’d reset it

you could tell me you were hurt
I’d press harder

you could tell me you were loved once
I’d say where

Leave a Reply

