Listing Loon Set: Numero Seis y Siete.

Here’s two!  One is brief, hardly worth a mention and yet.


I want to know when you
got to be okay.
There are still times when the
sun is setting and the light
leaks through the windows and
the whole apartment is quiet

that my chest feels like an anchor
dragging me down the pit in my
stomach. I can’t breathe
underwater.

The assumption goes hell is down,
heaven up. There’re stairways
leading to both.
Who has written about the afterlife
in an ocean of guilt? Who wrote
the poem on tidal waves of
shame? All that algae floating at
the top is that unnamed feeling
you suffer from at 2am.
I want to know when you got to be
okay. I want to know if I’ll ever be.


Did you read it?  Here’s the second.  It’s as transparent as a jellyfish.  It’s the kind you deliver out but without eye contact.  It feels so naked skin to do otherwise.  It needs editing.  It isn’t done.  But it’s a start.

this must be the thing worth waiting for

this must be the moment

I’ve heard of you

I’ve heard of you

not you

but the concept that you could happen in this way at this time in such a manner that I’ve have to catch my breath again and again hoping my lungs had the capacity for you

does my body have the capacity for you

it only feels right when you’re inside

present

accounted for

the only things certain in life are death and taxes

so what is the fee for you?

an arm and a leg

a heart and a head

take it

take it all

of me and what little i have

lay it at your feet lay it at your side lay me at your side so I can breathe

it only feels right when I can breathe

and the scent of you is ambrosia is nectar is manna is nourishment is good

this must be the thing worth waiting for

this must be the end of hunger

this must be the moment

I’ve heard of you

I’ve heard of you

now let me hold you

let me taste you

let me consume you monstrous and marvelous I am a wide pit of hunger and need

wide awake and rooting

you are in the earth

you are in the soil

you will be the plot to grow

you will be the thing worth waiting for

you will be the moment

I’ve heard of you.

-Jan. 13, 2017

 

 

Leave a Reply

